JavaScript Disabled. For a better experience on this website please enable JavaScript in your browser.

McNicholas students announced as 2018 Regional Scholastic Art & Writing Award recipients

The Belin-Blank Center at the University of Iowa has announced the Midwest Region award recipients of the 2018 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. Presented by the nonprofit organization, the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are the country's longest-running and most prestigious scholarship and recognition program for creative students in grades 7–12. This program year, more than 330,000 works of art and writing were submitted to 122 Affiliate regions across the country.

As one of the largest national affiliates, the Belin-Blank Center adjudicated over 7,000 pieces of art and writing from the Iowa and Midwest Regions. Creative teens from Iowa and the Midwest received regional honors, including Gold Keys, Silver Keys, Honorable Mentions, and/or American Visions & Voices nominations.  

In art, junior Julia Smith earned a Silver Key in drawing for her work Abby and junior Christina Poole earned an Honorable Mention in painting for her work of her dog in Coco. Their works were exhibited at the Art Academy of Cincinnati in February. Both are students of Mr. Willy Corbett.

In writing, senior Nick Rosenbaum, a student of Ms. Julie Muething, received Honorable Mention for his short story titled “Fear of Fire.”  Sophomore Katie Limberg received a Gold Key, for her novel submission Dawn of the Savior; and sophomore Isabelle Bowling earned an Honorable Mention for her personal memoir submission “She’s Gone.” Both are students of Mrs. Angie Noble.

Because Limberg received a Gold Key for the Midwest Region, her novel entry will now be judged at the national level.  National Gold Medalists will be announced in March 2018 and will be honored during a special awards ceremony at the world-famous Carnegie Hall in New York City in June 2018.

McNicholas has had two previous National Gold Key winners: Molly Jorden, Class of 2017, for art; and Lauren Fisher, Class of 2015, for journalism.

 Since the program’s founding in 1923, the Awards have fostered the creativity and talent of millions of students, including renowned alumni who have gone on to become leaders in their fields, including Andy Warhol, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Philip Pearlstein, Sylvia Plath, and Stephen King.

For more information about the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers and the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, visit the Scholastic News Room.

Quick Links
Welcome! Please sign in:

Can't access your account?

Quick Links

Site Search