Skip To Main Content

Rockets enjoy Pumpkin STEM lab and creative fall fun

Rockets enjoy Pumpkin STEM lab and creative fall fun

McNicholas students celebrated fall and Halloween with pumpkins galore inside and outside the classroom! Mr. Steve Dalton's class participated in the yearly pumpkin catapult STEM lab, the English Department hosted a literary pumpkin decorating contest, and CREWs carved out some time for fun with their own contest.  

Pumpkin Catapult Lab

Rockets "go big or gourd home" in Mr. Dalton's famous pumpkin catapult STEM lab every fall. Rockets tested their calculations by launching pumpkins across the grassy courtyard. We love hands-on, active learning at McNicholas!

CREW Pumpkin Decorating

Each day, students meet with their CREW members and mentor teacher for intentional formation and relationship building. This fall, CREWs worked together to decorate their own gourd-geous pumpkins.  

Congrats to Mr. Brunner's CREW, winners of the CREW pumpkin decorating contest!

Literary Pumpkin Contest

The English Department tasked students to decorate a pumpkin based on a character from literature. Congratulations to our Literary Pumpkin Contest Winners for their creativity and craft!    

1st Place - Josie Fortin  for Nancy Drew
2nd Place -  Kenzie Dehner for The Giving Tree
3rd Place - Matthew Irvine for Hedwig the Owl from the Harry Potter series

Voters Choice Winners - Megan Longmore for Pinkalicious, Delaney Rains for Coraline, Ava Hudson for Jack from Jack and the Beanstalk, and Sean O'Connell  for "The Raven"


    McNicholas High School graduation

    Congratulations to our newest graduates who received their diplomas at the MegaCorp Pavilion on Sunday, May 21.The Class of 2023 nominated Alex Reed to deliver the welcome and Student Body President Autumn Strebel to share her thoughts about the spirit and experience of their class.

    Top 10 Academic Signing

    Congratulations to the Class of 2023 Top 10! These 10 students have achieved the highest weighted cumulative grade point average up to and including the third quarter of their senior year: Augie Block, Ellie Bowman, Danielle Dietz, Nate Kouche, Grey Murray, Jacob Patterson, Landen Rupp, Alex Russo, Kaitlyn Schulte, and Autumn Strebel.