Skip To Main Content

National Art Honor Society recognizes students for their commitment to the arts

National Art Honor Society recognizes students for their commitment to the arts

Congratulations to the eighteen art students who were inducted on Monday, Feb. 26 into the National Art Honor Society (NAHS).

NAHS inspires and recognizes students who have shown an outstanding ability and interest in art and supports members in their efforts to attain the highest standards in art scholarship, character, and service. 

“Through their dedication, creativity, and unwavering commitment to excellence in their projects and classes, these students exemplify the true spirit of artistic achievement and are paving the way for a future filled with boundless opportunities and success,” Art Department Chair, Ms. Mel Gaskins, said.   

Candidates for the National Art Honor Society are invited by the Art Department to apply to the society based on their artistic skill, commitment to art, and academic standing. They are required to have a minimum of two semesters in art coursework and maintain a minimum 93% average in art courses. Candidates commit to majoring or minoring in art or intend to include art as part of their careers. 

NAHS President Veronica Huffman, Vice President Annabelle Dugle, Secretary Sheridan Threet, and Treasurer Francie Goff helped to induct these brilliant students, acknowledging the ways that their artistic talents and creativity make our world more beautiful:

  • Seniors: Audrey Beverly, Amanda Braig, Audrey Burt, Mary Ganim, Ryan Melcher, Walker Lewis, Owen Lawler, Cooper Steuer, and Avery Elliott.
  • Juniors: Steven Horne, Mia Ray, Maia Zeilman, Izzy Borman, and Addy Must.