Skip To Main Content

McNicholas dedicates Jerry Doerger Court

McNicholas dedicates Jerry Doerger Court

Longtime McNicholas head coach Jerry Doerger was honored during the Sunday, Jan. 31 basketball game against Anderson High School. The gym floor inside McNicholas High School’s Larry Bogenschutz Gymnasium was named in honor of Coach Doerger.

As a head coach, Coach Doerger amassed 537 wins at three different schools, 380 of those at McNicholas. He ranks in the top 30 amongst Ohio high school coaches and third among the coaches and programs in the GCL. In 28 seasons, his Rockets won 15 sectional championships, 10 District Championships, made the Regional Finals nine times, and made it to Columbus for the OHSAA State Final 4 on five different occasions.

“Coach’s impact on our community far extends beyond any scoreboard or any game won,” McNicholas Director of Athletics Drew Schmidt said, “and that is why this day is a monumental recognition within the McNicholas community that is so well-deserved.”

As a coach, counselor, and teacher at McNicholas from 1975 to 2003, Coach Doerger taught hundreds of McNicholas students the lifelong values of courage, respect, enthusiasm, resilience, teamwork, and relentless effort.

Current head coach, Tim Monahan, said, “What a historic night for McNicholas Basketball. Coach Doerger has touched so many lives and has had a major impact on our Rocket community. Coach gave me an opportunity to be on his staff at the young age of 18. I am where I am because of Coach. Thank you for believing in me.”

Attendance at the game was limited due to COVID restrictions, but 1,955 viewers tuned in to the livestream broadcast on the NFHS Network. The Rockets beat Anderson 60-25.

Gym floor with Jerry Doerger Court decal
Jerry Doeger is presented with plaque.
Jerry Doerger gives acceptance speech.
    McNicholas High School graduation

    Congratulations to our newest graduates who received their diplomas at the MegaCorp Pavilion on Sunday, May 21.The Class of 2023 nominated Alex Reed to deliver the welcome and Student Body President Autumn Strebel to share her thoughts about the spirit and experience of their class.

    Top 10 Academic Signing

    Congratulations to the Class of 2023 Top 10! These 10 students have achieved the highest weighted cumulative grade point average up to and including the third quarter of their senior year: Augie Block, Ellie Bowman, Danielle Dietz, Nate Kouche, Grey Murray, Jacob Patterson, Landen Rupp, Alex Russo, Kaitlyn Schulte, and Autumn Strebel.