Skip To Main Content

Hands Across Campus honored by IJPC for promoting diversity

Hands Across Campus honored by IJPC for promoting diversity

McNicholas student organization Hands Across Campus (HAC) was honored for their compassionate leadership by the Intercommunity Justice and Peace Center (IJPC).  At their annual gathering, IJPC awarded the first Youth Justice Award to HAC for their work to promote justice, diversity, and inclusion at McNicholas and in the community.  

HAC leader senior Karly Leibreich said, “As a group, we truly strive to display diversity throughout our area. We are so happy to see our work impacting the community around us.”  

According to theology teacher and co-sponsor of HAC, Ms. Teresa Davis, HAC’s mission is to “find student-led ways to educate and celebrate the cultural, physical, and geographical differences throughout McNicholas, Cincinnati, and the rest of the world.”  

The students of HAC have carried this mission out in many ways, including hosting educational events such as CANabilities and Autism awareness speakers; organizing cultural celebrations; spearheading hygiene and food collections to support local food pantries; and participating in education and outreach programs through Imago, Mt. Washington Cemetery, the Ozanam Center, and Shantytown. 

The award from IJPC includes $500 to put towards the group’s efforts to foster inclusion through leadership, education, engagement, and encounter.  

HAC senior Karly Leibreich, junior Mary Metzger, and sophomores Cara Metzger, Kennedy Kramer, and Michael Egan, along with faculty sponsors Ms. Davis and Ms. Amanda Beatty, were thankful for the recognition and the opportunity to participate in such a “joy-filled and inspirational” evening with IJPC, Ms. Davis remarked. 

Ms. Davis said to her students, “I am incredibly proud and humbled to journey with you and learn from you as you break open goodness on McNicholas High School’s campus and in the world.” 

    McNicholas High School graduation

    Congratulations to our newest graduates who received their diplomas at the MegaCorp Pavilion on Sunday, May 21.The Class of 2023 nominated Alex Reed to deliver the welcome and Student Body President Autumn Strebel to share her thoughts about the spirit and experience of their class.

    Top 10 Academic Signing

    Congratulations to the Class of 2023 Top 10! These 10 students have achieved the highest weighted cumulative grade point average up to and including the third quarter of their senior year: Augie Block, Ellie Bowman, Danielle Dietz, Nate Kouche, Grey Murray, Jacob Patterson, Landen Rupp, Alex Russo, Kaitlyn Schulte, and Autumn Strebel.