Skip To Main Content

¡Felicidades! Spanish students inducted to honor society

Twelve students were inducted to The Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica (SHH). The Spanish Honor Society recognizes high achievement in Spanish and promotes continuing interest in Hispanic studies. 

Spanish teacher Mrs. Tracey Canisalez said, “As members of the Octavio Paz Chapter of the Spanish Honor Society, students promise to devote themselves to the study of the Spanish language. Learning a language can create strong ties between people of different cultures. By staying committed to learning Spanish, it is my hope that these students will have many opportunities to be able to communicate, understand, form friendships, and make connections with others."

Students in SHH are also encouraged to participate in community service activities related to Spanish or Hispanic culture. The inductees are in the process of organizing a fundraiser to purchase an alpaca for a family in need in South America. Through Heifer International, their gift of an alpaca will allow a family the opportunity to provide and care for themselves, bringing them one step closer to lifting themselves out of poverty.

Congratulations to the inductees: Jessica Alvey, Kaycie Badylak, Rose Bayer, Auggie Block, Erin Byrne, Zach Fein, Caroline Fleming, Matthew Lang, Brenda Ocana, Olivia Ramundo, Ellie Ritze, Sophia Steinhaus.

McNicholas Spanish Honor Society Inductees
    McNicholas students collect recycling

    Students in the Environmental Science classes are caring for God’s creation and learning about sustainability by taking responsibility for the school recycling program. Science teacher Mr. Eric Hickman jump started the program as part of his Environmental Science curriculum. “My goal for this class is to make students aware of environmental issues and empower them to be a part of the solutions,” Mr. Hickman said.

    Early IT contest winner holds up prize

    Congratulations to freshman Louis Smith and sophomores Eli Holland and Jonathan Byrum who earned top awards in University of Cincinnati’s Early IT Fall Competition. Louis won first place in the Programming category for his Java script program that helps builders to calculate construction costs. Eli and Jonathan, who took second place as a team in the Web Development category, were challenged to create an original website that highlights the UC Early IT Program at McNicholas. 

    Rockets enjoy Pumpkin STEM lab and creative fall fun

    McNicholas students celebrated fall and Halloween with pumpkins galore inside and outside the classroom! Mr. Steve Dalton's class participated in the yearly pumpkin catapult STEM lab, the English Department hosted a literary pumpkin decorating contest, and CREWs carved out some time for fun with their own contest.