click this for cheese


McNicholas High School Mardi Gras

The Annual Mardi Gras Pageant and Ball, the most prestigious student event of the year at Archbishop McNicholas High School, honors 40 senior students who have given their time and talents in service to the school and community throughout their high school experience. During the evening ceremonies, a Mardi Gras King and Queen are crowned. The King and Queen are the highest vote getters amongst the senior class. The King, Queen and Court then preside over a formal dance open to all McNicholas students.

The Senior Court consists of the top 20 young men and top 20 young women who have actively participated in school events and organizations. Membership on the Court is a result of four years of compiled voting from students and faculty. The top four sophomore and junior young men and women constitute the honor guard.

The Captain of the Ball receives the second highest votes among young men in the senior class. The Maid of Honor receives the second highest votes among young women in the senior class. The announcement of the Captain of the Ball and Maid of Honor kicks off the Mardi Gras season at McNicholas.  The Sisters of St. Joseph, who founded McNicholas High School, brought the Mardi Gras tradition to the school in 1952.

The 63rd annual Mardi Gras will take place on Sunday, Feb. 15, 2015. The theme for the evening is Bayou Ball and Mrs. Anne Jones, Librarian and Webmaster, will emcee the event, an honor bestowed by the number of years of service to the school.  Congratulations to the 2015 Mardi Gras Court and Honor Guards:

2015 Mardi Gras Court


Captain of the Ball
Elliott Owen Higgins

Maid of Honor

Michelle Marie Rowekamp

William Joseph Allgeier
Meghan Kathleen Baker

Maxwell Cameron Bartel Emily Susan Bloemer
Justin Thomas Brunot Kelly Anne Cole
Sean Riley Byrne Katherine Elizabeth Farr
Matthew Ryan DeLuca Lauren Joan Fisher
Vincent Ronald Ehemann III
Shannon Nicole Gibbons
Daniel Michael Feck
Michelle Claire Hollenkamp
Eric Philip Frey
Caroline Addison Jorden
Augustino Clifford Giambrone
Ericka Marie Kaimer
Nathan Patrick Gorman
Molly Elizabeth Kidwell
James Lowell Harrington IV
Hannah Nicole Kocisko
Nathan Douglas Hazzard
Gabrielle Erin Latreille
Trevor Scott Hogue
Emma Nozomi McDermott
Trevor Nathaniel Lynd
Allison Noel O'Keefe
Kyle Patrick Morrisroe
Alana Christine Osterday
Jordan Michael Musselman
Anna Kathleen Pierce
Nicholas Michael Mays Niehaus
Margaret Kelly Sheehan
Andrew Marion Parra
Francesca Rose Shumrick
Matthew Jordan Whitmore Hope Elizabeth Wilson

Class of 2016 Honor Guard

Nicholas John Emig
Mitchell Joseph Hartwell
Connor Duffy Higgins
Salvatore Vincent Marino

Lauren Nicole Dundon
Sydney Elizabeth Evans
Emma Irene Heise
Gillian Nicole Tierney

Class of 2017 Honor Guard

Eric Joseph Dill
Jacob Anthony Fries
Jonathon Ryan Hazzard
Zachary David Woodke

Sophie Caroline Gorman
Christiane Grace Hazzard
Molly O'Donnell Jorden
Hannah Katherine Straub


Mardi Gras Kings and Queens 1953-2014